QC to honor Manuel Quezon Gawad Parangal awardees

BY THE MANILA TIMES OCTOBER 12, 2018

Fourteen outstanding citizens and nine institutions will receive the Manuel L. Quezon Gawad Parangal awards 2018 in honor of their valuable contributions to the nation's development this Friday at Crowne Plaza Galleria Hotel in Ortigas Avenue, QC. Among the awardees in the individual category are poet, journalist and scriptwriter Jose Maria Flores 'Pete' Lacaba Jr.; former principal of Ramon Magsaysay (Cubao) High School Dr. Josefina Perlado; former National Economic and Development Authority director general and secretary of socio-economic planning economist Dr. Felipe Medalla; first Muslim woman senator Santanina Tillah Rasul; radio and television anchor Noli de Castro; pediatrics expert Dr. Carina Cruz-Quimbo; newscaster Miguel 'Mike' Enriquez; columnist, entrepreneur and Palanca awardee Wilson Lee Flores; chef Alejandro 'Sandy' Daza; University of the East president and chief academic officer Dr. Ester Albano Garcia; Mapúa Institute of Technology CEO and president Dr. Reynaldo Vea Ph.D; Manila Bulletin's editor-in-chief and director Crispulo Icban Jr.; Jose Jimbo 'Coach Jim' Saret, and award-winning actor Eduardo Verchez Garcia, or Eddie Garcia. The outstanding institutions are University of the Philippines Concert Chorus, Ma Mon Luk restaurant, Arugaan, Adarna House Inc., University Athletic Association of the Philippines, Operation Smile, Angelicum College, Siena College and Erehwon Center for the Arts.